ARTICLE XVII HOLIDAYS

- 17.1 The Town allows 12 holidays each year. On or before January 1 of each year, the Board of Selectmen or the Town Administrator on its behalf will post a list of approved holidays for the coming year. All holidays will be observed on the day designated by the Federal Government other than the day before or after Christmas which is set by the Town Administrator. Normally, holidays falling on a Saturday will be celebrated on Friday. Holidays falling on a Sunday will be scheduled on a Monday.
 - 1. New Year's Day Floats
 - 2. Civil Rights Day Monday
 - 3. President's Day Monday
 - 4. Memorial Day Monday
 - 5. Independence Day Floats
 - 6. Labor Day Monday
 - 7. Columbus Day Monday
 - 8. Veterans Day Floats
 - 9. Thanksgiving Day -Thursday
 - 10. Day after Thanksgiving Friday
 - 11. Christmas Eve or the day after Christmas Floats
 - 12. Christmas Day Floats
- 17.2 Full time sworn police officers and non-sworn personnel will be paid for the 12 holidays whether they work them or not and that time will not count as time worked. This will be done by paying these full time sworn police officers for 48 hours of Holiday pay on or about June 1st and for 48 hours of holiday pay on or about December 1st of each year provided they were employed for that six month period. Any Officer working less than the six holiday periods shall have their holiday pay prorated for holidays worked during their employment period.
- 17.3 Other full time members of the bargaining unit will be allowed to take holidays off, if they fall on a regularly scheduled shift, without loss of pay.
- 17.34 Part time employees who work under 20 hours will not receive holiday pay.